Browse through our Interesting Nodes on Policy & Politics A)? GHT="50">
Compact version
Today's Suggestion
Read The "Macedonian Question" (by Maria Nystazopoulou-Pelekidou)
HomeAbout HR-NetNewsWeb SitesDocumentsOnline HelpUsage InformationContact us
Tuesday, 21 January 2020
  Latest News (All)
     From Greece
     From Cyprus
     From Europe
     From Balkans
     From Turkey
     From USA
  World Press
  News Archives
Web Sites
  Interesting Nodes
  Special Topics
  Treaties, Conventions
  U.S. Agencies
  Cyprus Problem
  Personal NewsPaper
  Greek Fonts

Athens News Agency: News in English, 11-11-11

Athens News Agency: News in English Directory - Previous Article - Next Article

From: The Athens News Agency at <>


  • [01] New transitional gov't under PM Papademos sworn in

  • [01] New transitional gov't under PM Papademos sworn in

    AMNA / A new transitional 'unity' government that will serve under new Prime Minister Lucas Papademos was sworn in during a ceremony at the presidential mansion in central Athens on Friday afternoon. Broadly, most Cabinet members served in the previous government of George Papandreou. Nevertheless, the new coalition government also includes six members hailing from the main opposition New Democracy party and four from the right-of-centre Popular Orthodox Rally (LA.O.S) party.

    In total, 48 people including the prime minister make up the new government, seven more than its immediate predecessor. There are 12 new ministers in its ranks, of which nine have been sworn into government office for the first time, including the new premier. (

    Ministries that changed hands include that of the interior, which has gone to Tassos Yiannitsis of PASOK, the foreign ministry that has gone to ND's Stavros Dimas, a former EU Commissioner, while the national defence portfolio was given to ND's Dimitris Avramopoulos, with PASOK's Yiannis Ragoussis and LAOS' George Georgiou as alternate ministers. In place of Ragoussis at the infrastructure ministry is LAOS's Makis Voridis, whereas Minister of State Elias Mossialos has been replaced by George Stavropoulos with a second individual due to be announced for the post of government spokesman in the next few days.

    Avramopoulos resigned his Parliament seat to assume the post, fulfilling a pledge by New Democracy that no members of its Parliament group will serve in the transitional government.

    Other changes include the removal of Fofi Gennimata from the education ministry to the post of Alternate Interior Minister, with ND's Constantine Arvanitopoulos taking her place as alternate education minister. ND's Yiannis Mourmouras, until now economic advisor to ND leader Antonis Samaras, has been added as deputy minister to the finance ministry team, which remains in the hands of Evangelos Venizelos as minister.

    LAOS's Adonis Georgiadis has been made deputy minister at the development ministry, while ND's Dimitris Vartzopoulos has been appointed deputy minister at the health ministry, ND's Petros Alevizatos is now deputy minister at the culture ministry and LAOS' Asterios Rodoulis is deputy agriculture minister.

    Six members of the previous government have not been included in the new cabinet, including Haris Kastanidis (former interior minister), Stavros Lambrinidis (foreign ministry), Panos Beglitis (defence), Ilias Mossialos (minister of state), and the former deputy minister Christos Aidonis and Angelos Tolkas.

    The composition of the new government, as compiled by the Athens News Agency (AMNA), is as follows:

    Prime Minister: Lucas Papademos

    First Government Vice President: Theodoros Pangalos

    Government Vice President and Finance Minister: Evangelos Venizelos

    Administrative Reform and Electronic Governance Minister: Dimitris Reppas

    Deputy Ministers: Dinos Rovlias, Pantelis Tzortzakis

    Interior Minister: Anastasios Yiannitsis

    Alternate Minister: Fofi Gennimata

    Deputy Minister: Paris Koukoulopoulos

    Finance Minister: Evangelos Venizelos

    Alternate minister: Filippos Sahinidis

    Alternate minister: Pantelis Economou

    Deputy Minister: Yiannis Mourmouras

    Foreign Minister: Stavros Dimas

    Alternate Minister: Mariliza Xenoyiannakopoulou

    Deputy Minister: Dimitris Dollis

    National Defence Minister: Dimitris Avramopoulos

    Alternate Minister: Yiannis Ragoussis

    Alternate Minister: George Georgiou

    Deputy Minister: Costas Spiliopoulos

    Development Minister: Michalis Chryssohoidis

    Alternate Minister: Socrates Xynidis

    Deputy Minister: Thanos Moraitis

    Deputy Minister: Adonis Georgiadis

    Environment, Energy & Climate Change Minister: George Papaconstantinou

    Alternate Minister: Nikos Sifounakis

    Deputy Minister: Yiannis Maniatis

    Education, Life-long Learning and Religions Affairs Minister: Anna Diamantopoulou

    Alternate Minister: Constantine Arvanitopoulos

    Deputy Minister: Evi Christofilopoulou

    Infrastructure, Transport and Networks Minister: Maroudis Voridis

    Deputy Minister: Yiannis Magriotis

    Labor and Social Security Minister: George Koutroumanis

    Deputy Minister: Yiannis Koutsoukos

    Health and Social Solidarity Minister: Andreas Loverdos

    Deputy Ministers: Dimitris Vartzopoulos, Markos Bolaris, Mihalis Timosidis

    Agricultural Development and Food Minister: Costas Skandalidis

    Deputy Ministers: Yiannis Drivelegas

    Deputy Minister: Asterios Rodoulis

    Justice Minister: Miltiadis Papaioannou

    Deputy Minister: George Petalotis

    Citizen Protection Minister: Christos Papoutsis

    Deputy Minister: Emmanuel Othonas

    Culture Minister: Pavlos Geroulanos

    Deputy Minister: George Nikitiadis (for Tourism)

    Deputy Minister: Petros Alevizatos

    State Minister: George Stavropoulos


    Athens News Agency: News in English Directory - Previous Article - Next Article
    Back to Top
    Copyright 1995-2016 HR-Net (Hellenic Resources Network). An HRI Project.
    All Rights Reserved.

    HTML by the HR-Net Group / Hellenic Resources Institute, Inc.
    ana2html v2.01 run on Friday, 11 November 2011 - 15:37:03 UTC