Browse through our Interesting Nodes on Classical Greece A)? GHT="50">
Compact version
Today's Suggestion
Read The "Macedonian Question" (by Maria Nystazopoulou-Pelekidou)
HomeAbout HR-NetNewsWeb SitesDocumentsOnline HelpUsage InformationContact us
Sunday, 19 January 2020
  Latest News (All)
     From Greece
     From Cyprus
     From Europe
     From Balkans
     From Turkey
     From USA
  World Press
  News Archives
Web Sites
  Interesting Nodes
  Special Topics
  Treaties, Conventions
  U.S. Agencies
  Cyprus Problem
  Personal NewsPaper
  Greek Fonts

Athens News Agency: News in English, 11-11-13

Athens News Agency: News in English Directory - Previous Article - Next Article

From: The Athens News Agency at <>


  • [01] Moroccan Boubker wins 29th Classical Marathon, sets new record
  • [02] Vote of confidence for new gov't at noon Wed.

  • [01] Moroccan Boubker wins 29th Classical Marathon, sets new record

    AMNA- Morocco's Abdelkerim Boubker won the 29th Athens Classic Marathon on Sunday, clocking in at a record-breaking 2:11:40, with Kenyans Kipkosgei Sammy Chumba in second place with 2:13:27 and Ndiritu Daniel Gatheru in third place with 2:16:12, leading runners in the ultra-distance race that this year marks the 2,501st anniversary of the 490 BC Battle of Marathon.

    Two sideline events were also held in tandem: a 10-kilometer split and a 5-kilometer split.

    Boubker covered the 42-kilometer distance in record time, breaking the previous record of 2:12:40 set by Kenyan Raymond Bett in the 2010 Athens Classic Marathon.

    The first woman to finish the race, which set off from Marathon at 9:00 a.m., was Ethiopia's Elfneshe Yado Melaku with 2:35:25 (12th overall), followed by Russia's Kamila Khanipova with 2:33:31 (45th overall).

    The first Greek runner to finish was Dimitrios Theodorakakos with 2:24:10, in 7th place overall.

    The runners were cheered on by young and old alike who lined up on the streets along the route.

    The 42-kilometer Classic Marathon is based on the legendary run carried out by the ancient hoplite Pheidippides who ran all the way from the battlefield of Marathon to the ancient city of Athens to bring news of the Greek victory over the invading Persian army, and traces the actual route he is believed to have taken. Pheidippides died as soon as he arrived in Athens, shouting 'Enikikamen' (we won). Pheidippides' effort inspired the modern Marathon event, which covers roughly the same distance as that between Marathon and central Athens and was created for the first-ever modern Olympic Games of 1896.

    [02] Vote of confidence for new gov't at noon Wed.

    AMNA / Parliament will hold a vote of confidence in Greece's new transition government at noon on Wednesday, after a three-day debate of new prime minister Lucas Papademos' policy statement.

    Papademos will present his policy statement on Monday afternoon, at 7:00 p.m. in parliament, after which a three-day debate begins on the policy statement, which will wind up at noon on Wednesday with a roll-call vote.

    All the political party leaders and all the ministers, deputy ministers and MPs wishing to do so may speak during the parliamentary debate.

    The new transitional 'unity' government that will serve under new Prime Minister Lucas Papademos was sworn in during a ceremony at the presidential mansion in central Athens on Friday afternoon. Broadly, most Cabinet members served in the previous government of George Papandreou. Nevertheless, the new coalition government also includes six members hailing from the main opposition New Democracy party and four from the right-of-centre Popular Orthodox Rally (LA.O.S) party.

    In total, 48 people including the prime minister make up the new government, seven more than its immediate predecessor. There are 12 new ministers in its ranks, of which nine have been sworn into government office for the first time, including the new premier. (

    The composition of the new government, as compiled by the Athens News Agency (AMNA), is as follows:

    Prime Minister: Lucas Papademos

    First Government Vice President: Theodoros Pangalos

    Government Vice President and Finance Minister: Evangelos Venizelos

    Administrative Reform and Electronic Governance Minister: Dimitris Reppas

    Deputy Ministers: Dinos Rovlias, Pantelis Tzortzakis

    Interior Minister: Anastasios Yiannitsis

    Alternate Minister: Fofi Gennimata

    Deputy Minister: Paris Koukoulopoulos

    Finance Minister: Evangelos Venizelos

    Alternate minister: Filippos Sahinidis

    Alternate minister: Pantelis Economou

    Deputy Minister: Yiannis Mourmouras

    Foreign Minister: Stavros Dimas

    Alternate Minister: Mariliza Xenoyiannakopoulou

    Deputy Minister: Dimitris Dollis

    National Defence Minister: Dimitris Avramopoulos

    Alternate Minister: Yiannis Ragoussis

    Alternate Minister: George Georgiou

    Deputy Minister: Costas Spiliopoulos

    Development Minister: Michalis Chryssohoidis

    Alternate Minister: Socrates Xynidis

    Deputy Minister: Thanos Moraitis

    Deputy Minister: Adonis Georgiadis

    Environment, Energy & Climate Change Minister: George Papaconstantinou

    Alternate Minister: Nikos Sifounakis

    Deputy Minister: Yiannis Maniatis

    Education, Life-long Learning and Religions Affairs Minister: Anna Diamantopoulou

    Alternate Minister: Constantine Arvanitopoulos

    Deputy Minister: Evi Christofilopoulou

    Infrastructure, Transport and Networks Minister: Maroudis Voridis

    Deputy Minister: Yiannis Magriotis

    Labor and Social Security Minister: George Koutroumanis

    Deputy Minister: Yiannis Koutsoukos

    Health and Social Solidarity Minister: Andreas Loverdos

    Deputy Ministers: Dimitris Vartzopoulos, Markos Bolaris, Mihalis Timosidis

    Agricultural Development and Food Minister: Costas Skandalidis

    Deputy Ministers: Yiannis Drivelegas

    Deputy Minister: Asterios Rodoulis

    Justice Minister: Miltiadis Papaioannou

    Deputy Minister: George Petalotis

    Citizen Protection Minister: Christos Papoutsis

    Deputy Minister: Emmanuel Othonas

    Culture Minister: Pavlos Geroulanos

    Deputy Minister: George Nikitiadis (for Tourism)

    Deputy Minister: Petros Alevizatos

    State Minister: George Stavropoulos

    Athens News Agency: News in English Directory - Previous Article - Next Article
    Back to Top
    Copyright 1995-2016 HR-Net (Hellenic Resources Network). An HRI Project.
    All Rights Reserved.

    HTML by the HR-Net Group / Hellenic Resources Institute, Inc.
    ana2html v2.01 run on Sunday, 13 November 2011 - 15:37:02 UTC